Unite Families - Fight For Love (UFFFL)
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Leonie's story

2 posters

Go down

Leonie's story Empty Leonie's story

Post  Elbe Tue Aug 28, 2012 4:53 am

I am a British citizen and met my Trinidadian partner at university while we were both doing our Masters degrees. He returned to Trinidad and found work as a government research scientist while we prepared for our wedding, which was planned for March 2013. We had aimed to be sensible and ensure that our finances were secure before getting married and he made the move to be here with me in the UK.

I am a PhD student and I work 30 hours a week to pay for my studies. The new income threshold means that while we could still get married, we will not be able to live together unless I find work that pays above £18,600. Living in the Midlands my wages come nowhere near this level, and in my current job I would have to work a 55 hour week in order to meet it. The fact that my partner’s income is not taken into consideration means that in order for him to live with me I either have to find a full time job that pays £9.50 an hour (and consequently neglect my studies) or give up my doctorate in order to move to Trinidad (which recently underwent a 3 month state of emergency and curfew due to the incredibly high murder rate and on which the Foreign Office advises: ‘You should be aware that there are high levels of violent crime, especially shootings and kidnappings. British nationals have been victims of violent attacks, particularly in Tobago where law enforcement is weak”).